• Welcome to the Resident Evil Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Resident Evil series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Resident Evil 2 (1998) How should I play the stories?

GMX2000

So I just started playing the game and I chose Leon A because I've played RE4 and I like Leon, whereas I've never heard of Claire. I worked through that scenario and now it seems to have unlocked Claire B. I had assumed it would unlock Leon B. Looking around I read in a couple places that Claire A/Leon B is supposed to be "canon." Should I now go to Claire A then Leon B, or just play through Claire B and be satisfied?

Basically I want to experience the game's full story (as it fits into the overall RE timeline) with as little repetition as possible. Is Claire A basically just Leon A with Claire? Or does she mostly get to do her own thing? I saw her with that little girl when I got on the train at the end of the game, so I assume there's a fair amount different on her story, but I just wanted to be sure...

Also, please no spoilers! :) I know some things about the overall RE2 story but not details.

KevinStriker

"Quite an experience to live in fear, isn't it?"
Assuming you're playing the PS1 version, RE2 has two discs: Disc 1 is Leon and Disc 2 is Claire. If I understand correctly, popping in a disc and starting a new game begins A Scenario. When you insert the next disc and load the save game from the 1st disc, it begins the B Scenario.

Next, people say that Claire A Leon B is the correct and canon scenario because Ada Wong, a major character in Resident Evil 4 (and as much as I hate to say it, 6) survives the whole way through Claire A Leon B but pretty definitively dies in Leon A Claire B.

Ada's fate being ambiguous is not a gigantic spoiler anymore, by the way.

GMX2000

you should play code veronica X and RE4 and 5.6 to fully understand the game story